The Most-Googled Questions About Facebook, Answered

Facebook FAQs

For some, Facebook is an absolute minefield of complications and unsolved mysteries, particularly when it comes to digital marketing. While most see it as a necessity in modern-day business (and their social lives) not everyone quite understands the ins and outs of the social network.

In times of confusion, the majority of people turn to Google for the answers they seek. We decided to cut out the middle man, providing the answers to some of your most pressing questions when it comes to using Facebook…

1) How to delete my Facebook account?

We appreciate that, for all its benefits and uses, Facebook is not for everyone. When it comes to leaving Facebook, you have two options: deactivation or deletion. Here’s how to deactivate your account:

  1. Head to Facebook and click the arrow in the top right corner (next to the quick help question mark button).
  2. Press on Manage Account.
  3. Select ‘Deactivate account’.
  4. Fill out the form and follow the instructions.

Facebook will then remove your content from the network, saving it in case you decide to return. Click here for more details on deactivating your Facebook account.

If you’re dead certain you want to leave Facebook for good, here’s how to permanently delete your account.

2) How to block someone on Facebook?

If you would prefer not to come up on someone’s feed – whether that’s in the comments of a post, search bar or timeline – you can block them from seeing you, and you from seeing them.

Follow these instructions to block someone:

  1. Click the downward arrow in the top-right of Facebook and select ‘Blocking’ on the left-hand side.
  2. Enter the name of the individual you want to block and click ‘Block’.
  3. Find the person in the list of suggestions and select ‘Block’.
  4. If you can’t find them, head to their profile and select the menu on their cover photo. From here, you should have the option to block them.

Click here for more details on blocking.

3) Will the person I blocked on Facebook know?

If you block someone on Facebook, don’t worry, they are not notified. Anyone you block won’t be able to view your profile or content, and they won’t be able to search for you or add you either.

Blocking someone is not as obvious as simply unfriending them (if you remove someone as a friend, they can still find you and, even worse, they’ll know from the ‘Add Friend’ button that you’ve removed them).

If you block someone, they may be able to find out through the powers of deduction – if they see you on someone else’s Facebook account’s timeline, for instance.

4) Have I been unfriended on Facebook?

As you can see, there is a bit of a theme appearing with the majority of people’s Facebook-related Google searches!

If you have an inkling that someone has unfriended you on Facebook, head to their profile and see if the ‘Add Friend’ option is listed. If it is, and you can no longer see their content, it is clear they have removed you from their friends list.

If you can no longer find that person’s profile, they may have blocked you or deleted/deactivated their Facebook account. As Facebook wants to keep its users happy, it does not make it easy to discover who has blocked you/unfriended you, as this can of course cause some offence.

For more information on how to tell if you’ve been unfriended, check out this useful guide from The Independent.

5) Why can’t I add someone on Facebook?

In Facebook’s words, you may not be able to add someone on the platform if:

  1. They’ve already deleted your friend request. If this is the case, you won’t be able to send them another request for one year.
  2. You’ve blocked them. If you want to add someone as a friend who you have blocked, you’ll need to unblock them.
  3. Their privacy settings only enable friend requests from friends of friends on Facebook.
  4. You or they have 5,000 friends. This is the maximum amount a personal account can have. If you need more, you need to convert your account to a Facebook Page.
  5. You already sent them a friend request or have been blocked from sending friend requests.

6) How to use Marketplace on Facebook?

Facebook Marketplace was introduced in 2015, offering users the opportunity to buy and sell goods in a similar fashion to Gumtree and Craigslist.

You can access Marketplace by heading to Facebook.com/marketplace. From here, you can scroll through items for sale in your local area. Use the left-hand menu to filter your searches based on price, product, location and so on.

If you’d like to sell something on Facebook Marketplace, simply select ‘Sell something’ on the column on the left and follow the simple steps. Facebook allows you to sell items, vehicles and even property!

7) Where do I find the ‘view as’ tool on Facebook?

The ‘View As’ tool is a crucial one for Page Editors and Admins on Facebook, as it allows you to seamlessly switch between your personal profile and any pages you manage when commenting and posting content.

When engaging with a post (liking or engaging), you can select which Facebook presence of yours you want to appear as by selecting the little circle with your profile picture on the right-hand side (below shares).

Facebook View As Button

Clicking on this will present your personal account and any business accounts you have access to. Simply select the one you want and comment/like away!

8) Where do I find my URL on Facebook?

The URL of your Facebook account is the link address people use to find you on the social network. There are two ways you can find out yours:

  1. Press your name on the top bar. When your profile opens up, simply copy and paste the URL from your browser.
  2. To change your Facebook URL (or to find out what it is), head to your general account settings (using the arrow in the top-right of the page). From here, you can change your username, which forms the latter part of your URL after the brackets.

9) When should I post on Facebook?

On Facebook, the timing of content is of course important. “Do I publish in the morning when people are getting up and commuting to work? Should I post at lunch time when people are checking their phones? What about in the evenings? Or weekends?” These are all questions that plague users – particularly those who utilise Facebook for business.

The truth is, there is no right answer to this question. It’s all about knowing your audience, which is a combination of customer profiling, guess-work, and trial and error. It’s certainly worth testing various timings when it comes to publishing for A/B testing.

You can then use Facebook Insights (or engagement numbers if you’re using a personal account) to compare the results.

Need more info? We actually wrote a blog on the best time to post on social media!

10) Should I use hashtags on Facebook?

Since Facebook first rolled out hashtags in 2015, there has been much debate about whether or not it’s necessary or acceptable to use them. It comes as no surprise to us that this is one of the most-Googled questions regarding the social network, especially when you look at how little information developers have provided on the benefits of using hashtags.

Hashtags on Facebook make your posts searchable, which obviously increases the chances of your brand’s content being seen by a larger audience. This is particularly effective for big brands, who can identify particular content and campaigns via unique hashtags to ensure followers can find it.

While we would advise using multiple hashtags on Instagram, we recommend that you stick to just one or two per post on Facebook. Try and make them fit into your content so it still makes sense grammatically too.

Using hashtags on your personal account is similar, but boils down more to your own preferences and who you want to see your content.

Got any more questions about Facebook and digital marketing?

Speak to our expert, friendly team for more advice and guidance on…

Oliver Wilkinson
Content Manager